TCHCC incorporated on March 24, 1997, and received 501(c) 3 status in July of the same year. The location for this non-profit corporation was finalized when a lease was signed with the City of La Grange in November 1997. Statewide efforts by Czech-founded organizations to raise money to develop a Center that would preserve and promote the history, heritage, and culture of the people of Czech ethnicity actually began in 1995.

In December 1995, Texans of Czech Ancestry (TOCA), an umbrella organization that serves to improve and facilitate communication among Czech-founded organizations, called a meeting to hear a proposal offered by the Czech Heritage Society of Texas to build a library for the preservation of books and documents significant to Texas Czechs. Following presentations and discussion, TOCA voted to support building a statewide Czech cultural center with a library, museum, and archives.  Read more.


TCHCC preserves and promotes the history, language, culture, and heritage of Czech Texans who trace their ancestry to present-day Czech Republic or the former Austro-Hungarian Empire (including Bohemia, Moravia, Silesia, and Slovakia). Read more.

Board of Directors and Staff

TCHCC Board of Directors
Retta Slavik Chandler, Chairman of the Board (LaGrange)
Joseph Bartosh (Taylor)
Richard G. Cernosek (LaGrange)
Jerome G. Hrncir (Moravia)
Barbara Stratton Hruby (San Antonio)
William H. Schovajsa (LaGrange)
Clairce Marik Snokhous (Houston)
Dennis Vanek (Victoria)
Brian Vanicek (Temple)

Honorary Board Members
Elo Goerig
Daniel Marek
William Melnar

President Retta Slavik Chandler
Vice President William H. Schovajsa
Vice President/financial Joseph Bartosh
Secretary Barbara Stratton Hruby

Mark Hermes, Manager
Cathleen Noska, Membership/Memorials
Georgia Vyvial, Food Services
Lorenda Polasek, Gift Shop
Janis Hrncir, Museum/Library